And there was illumination!

Today I worked on the light inside the buttons. (With some help from my brother 😉 )

Like a said last time, I found out how to get the lights to work, so i’ll do a bit of explanation here:
While searching the internet, I came across this image:

(All credits of the image go to user “Random” of the Ransai forums)
The thing you see in the middle is a Button switch.
To get the lights to work, you’ll need another powersource, since the lights need 12V, and the PS2 only gets 5V. But if you add 12V to the circuitboard, you’ll need to prevent this extra Voltage from entering the PS2. This is where you need some diodes, these small thingies make sure the powerflow only goes in one direction, and when placed in the right way, the lights can receive 12V without harming my precious PS2.

One microswitch with the attached Diodes…

Nine microswitches with attached diodes 🙂

Since I really wanted to test it out, but my Arcade-cabinet not yet ready to be played, I grabbed my old ArcadeStyleController and hooked it up.


Reconnected all the wires, plus the new 12V-adding-wires.
(Believe me, there’s seriously a pattern in the wires to keep them distinguished 😉 )

And Voila, Illuminated buttons:

  

Also had a movie file, but thanks to the wonderfull app “Adobe Premiere” I won’t be able to upload it….

2 Responses to “And there was illumination!”

  1. DragonMinded Says:

    Do you mind posting a circuit diagram for those lights? The ransai forums are long since down and internet archive doesn’t have the images. Thanks~

  2. Marcel V Says:

    I’ll have to look for them on a few PC’s. I’m sure I still have them, but no idea where 😛

Leave a comment