Creating the control panel

The first thing I did this morning was looking for the right button spacing measurements.

On various sites I found that the most common used space between the buttons is 13,97-14,7 cm.
For no particular reason I went for 14cm for my control panel.

Since the control panel will be enduring a lot of force, It’s made out of 2 planks.
The buttons “sink” in the upper plank, and then will rest on both planks, which will spread the force over a greater surface.

So I went ahead and made my planks ready to be sawn.

A few hours later I finished the top plank
(I know, it looks like it could be done in 5 minutes, but I’m not that great 😉 )

And at the end of the day, when the lower plank was finished, it looked like this.
(The thing in the lower right corner is one of the Pop’n Music buttons )

I’ll try to insert all the buttons tonight, so I can make a comparison with my former Pop’n Music Controller.
(I messed up the button spacing with that one)
 

Leave a comment